A proposal to require all bars and restaurants with liquor licenses to display DWI penalties in restrooms, entrances, and exits has been introduced by Assemblywoman Caroline Casagrande. The bill, A-3463, includes a $50 fine to establishments that would fail to post the notices of DWI penalties.
Casagrande, R-Monmouth said, “This is a last call to stop drunk driving. Those who drink tend to need a restroom and this would give them a final reminder on the way out the door before doing something incredibly stupid like getting behind the wheel.”
Assemblywoman Casagrande pushed for a DWI bill in June 2012 that would significantly increase DWI penalties in New Jersey, including up to 18 months in jail for a 2nd DWI offense, adding an additional year of imprisonment to the previous law.
New Jersey has tough penalties for drunk drivers, and the notices that could go up in establishments would include penalties such as a $400 fine, 30 days of imprisonment, a 3-month license suspension, 12 hours in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, and an automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 for three years for a first offense DWI.
Casangrande said, “One piece of paper displaying the severe consequences of driving drunk might spare a person from going to jail and losing their license, and more importantly, save another person’s life.”